Video of Alternate Professional Development for PBeL

What’s the backstory to my idea, you ask? Well, I’m just really, really, really bad at telling a story. On the other hand, Nancy Duarte is really really good at telling them. But don’t take my word for it; watch her here:

That’s why she creates presentations and offers training. Which is why I don’t. But! I did the next best thing: I started with the why. Simon Sinek has a simple but powerful model for inspiring leadership and I used his advice and started with the why; I started with many whys actually. Watch him here:

I was also inspired by a commercial I saw while I was waiting for my novela to come back on. I would love to give them credit if only I could remember who or what the commercial was about. I can tell you that they used Simon Sinek’s model; they also started with the why.

For more information on my Simon Sinek-inspired article, Let Me Win Over Your Heart by Starting with Why, click here.

The purpose for this presentation was to convince my administration and colleagues to move from the traditional “sit and get” to the “go and show” or alternate model of professional development. This was the easy part. The hard part was trying to incorporate my Project Based eLearning (PBeL) initiative within my presentation. So, instead of emphasizing both ideas at once, I kind of interwove my PBeL initiative within the alternate model of professional development. As you can see in the presentation, in some instances, PBeL is explicit and in others, it is not.

I believe the hardest part of creating any project or presentation is getting started. You have the idea in your head (I had it for several days), but you just can’t seem to put it on paper. I was debating whether I should use Prezi or just regular ol’ Microsoft PowerPoint. I wanted to really personalize each and every detail of the text and graphics, so I went with PowerPoint. Surprisingly, Microsoft PowerPoint 2016 has really bumped up its game. Here’s an article detailing its updates: What’s new in PowerPoint 2016 for Windows. Believe it or not, I started my presentation from the middle, worked my way up towards the beginning, and then, simply finished it off.

From there, all I did was insert the images from Bing’s Image Search engine (integrated within Microsoft PowerPoint) with the “Creative Commons only” filter.

Capture1.PNG

It was difficult to find images that fit cohesively into one presentation, but I don’t think I did too bad. Deciding which ones were most powerful to an audience took several hours. Like the old Chinese proverb says, “A picture is worth a thousand words.” I wanted my presentation to be simple, yet powerful. The less text, the better. After all, I was going to say it all anyways. Presentation Zen gave me a lot of pointers. One that really stuck was that you don’t want your audience to stop listening to you because all of what you are saying is already on the screen. You want the audience focused on you. The presentation shouldn’t be the star of the show-you should (or in my case, my voice).

Lastly, I used Screencast-O-Matic to record my presentation and voice:

Captur2.PNG

As you can see, I used the Presenter View in PowerPoint to not only show my presentation slides, but also see the next slide and read my notes as I recorded. What I like most about Screencast-O-Matic is that after you have completed recording, you can automatically upload your video on YouTube. And violà!

One thought on “Video of Alternate Professional Development for PBeL

  1. Pingback: Class is in Session! – Lifelong Learning in a Changing World

Leave a Reply

